Skip to content

Blogging and the Triumph of Consumer Capitalism

December 6, 2007

Just about once a week, I have the same reoccurring epiphany: the Internet exists solely to make money. The event that led me to that realization today, my stumbling across Thisisby.us, has effectively split my online writing persona. But better yet, it’s encouraged me to create a distinction between things I want to write because I think that they are meaningful and things I write to get people’s attention. Thisisby.us rewards the latter by paying its writers on a sliding scale that relates to how many hits each post gets.

Imagine if academic scholarship worked like this. Would people continue write the crap that passes for research?

Oh yeah. If you want to help me get paid, read my Thisby.us posts too, which I have begun to stream into this blog via RSS feed.  Be sure to click on my reflections so I can make lots of money!

From → Capitalism

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

