Skip to content
Tags

Should Baristas be Required to Have a Minimum Music Knowledge?

July 31, 2007

The other day I was in Starbucks, and I recognized the unmistakable strains of Bob Marley’s “Could You Be Loved” playing on the store’s speaker system.  I decided to crack an incredibly lame joke, directed toward the barista.

“Wow, this is some good music,” I said.  “Who is this playing?  Is this an up-coming reggae artist?”  I expected the barista to look at me as if I were stupid, grimace, and say, “Uh, no, sir, it’s Bob Marley.”  Instead, he said, “I’m not sure.  Hold on one second, I can go ask my manager.”

And to think that there are over 30,000 of these stores worldwide.

From → Capitalism

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

