Skip to content

Infant Joy and Infant Sorrow

July 25, 2007

Early this morning, just after midnight in fact, my sister gave birth to her first child. I’m proud of her; I knew she could do it, and it looks like she’ll make a full recovery. So, in celebration I’d like to offer a dyad of dedicatory poems from the Songs of Innocence and Experience.

“Infant Joy”

I have no name
I am but two days old.–
What shall I call thee?
I happy am
Joy is my name,–
Sweet joy befall thee!

Pretty joy!
Sweet joy but two days old,
Sweet joy I call thee;
Thou dost smile.
I sing the while
Sweet joy befall thee.

***

“Infant Sorrow”

My mother groaned! my father wept.
Into the dangerous world I leapt:
Helpless, naked, piping loud;
Like a fiend hid in a cloud.

Struggling in my fathers hands:
Striving against my swadling bands:
Bound and weary I thought best
To sulk upon my mothers breast.

***

Congratulations Stephanie and Luke! Your child has entered the world well by resting in the arms of a man wearing a Red Sox shirt.Madeline

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Heather permalink

    Yay stephanie! tell her congratulations! now you and starla are an aunt and uncle :)

  2. Steph permalink

    Thanks for the poems…very sweet.

  3. Aimee permalink

    Your sister had a baby? Wow, that must feel weird! Please tell me you and Starla are not next!

    (Sorry, I kind of forgot about this blog).

  4. Aimee: Ha! No way. Having a kid right now would be a career killer, probably about as bad a slashing the tires of one’s committee chair and then leaving a note saying it was you.

  5. Oh, I don’t know that I agree with you, Andrew…. That is, about having kids right now. I do agree that slashing my chair’s tires would have a less than salutary effect on my degree pursuit.

  6. Jemallia permalink

    Well done! congratulations! Hope its a good little baby! :)

Leave a Reply

